Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Alexa tutors in Ames, IA

Alexa G.

Private tutor in Ames, IA

Education

Junior Anthropology major at Iowa State University, with a minor in Speech Communications. GPA of 3.60.

Experience

I earned a 32 on my ACT test and attended various AP classes in high school, including AP Calculus, AP Composition and Writing, and AP Literature. I received a 4 in AP Comp. and a 5 in both AP Calculus and AP Literature. I attended all honors math, science, and english classes in high school and tutored my younger sibling in algebra last year. My senior year of high school I was also named a 2012 Commended National Merit Scholar. I would like to tutor high school students because I had a wonderful tutor for AP Calculus my senior year of high school who changed my whole outlook on understanding the subject. I would like to help other students feel proud of their achievements in classes that they struggle with and eventually feel confident in their knowledge of the subject.

Availability

Weekends at any time, Mon/Wed/Fri after 3PM, Tuesday in the afternoon

Can Meet

Up to 5 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

My hobbies include reading, writing poetry, swimming, drawing, cooking, gardening, and spending as much time as I can with my family when I am home. My true passion is nature and I love to be outside all the time. I spent most of my summer working outside in my Grandmother's Japanese garden and I could not get enough time outside. Although I do not claim to be anywhere close to a master chef, I do spend a fair amount of time dabbling in the kitchen and baking for my friends and family in particular. I also spend a good amount of my time reading and writing for my own enjoyment. My current love is mystery novels. When I do find time to watch television, I enjoy sci-fi shows like Doctor Who and crime shows like Castle and Psych.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!