Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Dongfang tutors in Ames, IA

Dongfang N.

Private tutor in Ames, IA

Education

Iowa State University (2009-2011) Master degree, major: Journalism Shanghai International Studies University (2005-2009) Bachelor degree, major: International Communication and Journalism

Experience

GRE: 800(math)+ 490 (verbal) About the reason why I want to be a tutor: I think the most important factor is that I want to utilize what I have learned and what I am good at. Actually, I think I am good at maths, physics, and other subjects. But since I chose Journalism in my college years, I have to give up them and nearly seldom use them as major or something like that. Whenever I tutored my younger sisters with their maths, English, physics, and other courses in the high school, I found I can make best of what I know. Secondly, when I help others to solve some problems based on my knowledge, I feel very happy. In my opinion, teaching-learning process is a mutual process. We can achieve the final purpose by asking-answering-rethinking-confirmation. It would be very fruitful not only for students but also for me. Thirdly, I always think learning process can be as pleasant as possible. But in my experiences, many of my own teachers or professors always made me an impression that study is hard, boring, and sometimes tortures people. I don't agree with that. I hope I can have the ability to show that study can also be a pleasant habit, or a process of making friends. About other impressive items from my resume: I have one-year internship experience in Shanghai TV station as the director of documentaries. During that time, I co-operated with my team-members to make more than 20 documentaries, and those documentaries had been broadcast on Dragon TV across China. In 2007 Shanghai Special Olympics, I worked as the liaison officer and accompanies athlete from Middle-East countries in the process of opening ceremony.

Availability

Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for a flat fee

Hobbies

I like students who are younger than me, because I think my personality is much easier to make friends with them. In my leisure time, I like watch movies, listen to music (pop,country, R&B, etc.), art, and reading books. I hope my students can be brutally honest with me so than I can see which I am doing wrong or what they need from me.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!