Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Ben tutors in Ames, IA

Ben S.

Private tutor in Ames, IA

Education

Freshman Math/Biology major at Iowa State University.

Experience

I have informally tutored other students in subjects ranging from composition to Spanish to biology and various math levels, mostly ranging from Algebra through Calculus and Differential Equations. My AP exam scores are as follows: English Literature and Composition: 4 Calculus AB/BC: 5, 5 European History: 5 Statistics: 5 Biology: 5 My ACT composite score is: 35 In high school, I took eight years worth of math classes ranging from geometry and advanced algebra to statistics as well as discrete mathematics, calculus I and II, and differential equations with Laplace transforms. I have also taken numerous English courses and over five years of Spanish. My most recent biology course was AP Biology, which is really a very cool class and a subject that I am particularly interested in. During high school, I also did childcare for several families, as well as working as a part-time (and occasionally full-time) video editor for the research firm Frank N. Magid Associates. The reason I want to be a tutor is very simple: To help students realize their potential in various subjects and to promote interest in learning in general.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Tuesday after 1PM, Thursday after 1PM

Can Meet

Up to 5 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Well, I am very interested in the subjects that I have been mentioning. Actually, there isn't really anything that doesn't interest me at least a little. I enjoy listening to music, and occasionally I still play my trombone (I prefer playing jazz) or fiddling around on a piano (at which I am not very good). I also enjoy playing some sports recreationally, such as soccer or disc-golfing, although I really have very little skill at these. In high school I was very active in the drama department, performing in and being behind-the-scenes for numerous shows each year. I also enjoy running and listening and talking with people. And reading, I suppose. Actually, I read quite a bit...This "Interests" section could really be extended indefinitely.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!