Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
James tutors in Ames, IA

James A.

Private tutor in Ames, IA

5James A.

108 reviews

Education

Iowa State University - Current Undergrad, Computer Engineering

Experience

Currently, I am a freshman at Iowa State University studying Computer Engineering and Spanish. I was a volunteer at the local library for a couple years as a tech teen. As a tech teen, I helped people learn to better use technology within their own lives, and therefore tutoring comes pretty easy for me. The subjects I tutor are Math, Test Prep, and Spanish, and I love tutoring all of these subjects. As an engineering major, I have learned to enjoy math and find problems fascinating. I also love tutoring Spanish as it gives me a chance to work on my own mastery of the language. However, I enjoy test prep tutoring most as I can have a significant impact upon the student’s future. Maybe a student wants to be the first in his or her family to attend a four year university. Maybe he or she wants to attend a highly prestigious school. Increasing students’ standardized test scores get them one closer to their dreams and aspirations. When tutoring, I like to make sure the student and I have an ongoing dialogue. If I know a lot about a person’s personality, I can then decide what would best help the student. Additionally, I firmly believe that the best way to learn is from one’s mistakes. Sometimes, I even like to have the student try and catch the mistake I intentionally made. If you were to ever drop by Iowa State, you may see me embarrassing myself on my longboard. I’ve fallen quite a bit, but I think I’m getting the hang of it. You learn from your mistakes right? Generally, doing athletic related things takes up a lot of my free time. I like pretty much all sports and enjoy spending my free time engaging in them. At the moment, I’m trying to get back in shape for track season by doing some running and lifting weights.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

5 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Longboarding, Lifting Weights, Running, Reading, Video Games

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!