Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Andrew tutors in Ames, IA

Andrew S.

Private tutor in Ames, IA

Availability

Weekdays at any time

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I am native Iowan, and a recent graduate of Iowa State University; still living and working in the Ames / Des Moines area. My degree is in Dietetics (with a minor in Psychology), and I have had a life long passion for all things science. My current schedule (as of 2.1.16) is quite flexible. Biology, Nutrition, Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology, Psychology, Sociology, and Social-Psychology, and a little Chemistry and Biochemistry are all types of my favorite subjects and areas of science that still hold my interest. I currently work as a Personal Trainer and Nutrition Coach, and the most exciting aspect of my primary job is the education, knowledge, and insight that I get to provide to my clients. I use a variety of methods, from analogy and metaphor, to diagrams and graphics to help others understand the concepts behind the science that is guiding their program, their biology, and their psychology. I consider what I do a form of teaching, but also a form of motivation, psychological analysis and support, and opening client's eyes to the interactions of the myriad of factors that contribute to their choices. The underlying basis of Dietetics is knowing the biological sciences that are at work; from the molecular level of how vitamins play a role in DNA replication, to the level of organ system interaction, and all the way out to how government policy affects nutritional availability, crop production, and environmental impacts. I speak in front of people all day long. Every person I meet with is in a public setting, and I also have given many presentations in from of various groups from high school years up to the recent past. I am very comfortable informing, leading, and engaging a group of people in a discussion. In addition to my science background, I have a strong computer history as well. I have been using a computer (IBM, not Apple) for the last 20 years, I have built desktop computers from scratch, and I routinely use a variety of software to play games, manage my PC, and help to generate documents and analytical reports.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!