Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Taylor tutors in Ames, IA

Taylor T.

Private tutor in Ames, IA

Education

I am a senior majoring in genetics with a minor in microbiology at Iowa State University. After graduation I plan on working in my field for a couple of years before attending graduate school to pursue a PhD.

Experience

I have been a Supplemental Instruction Leader for the Principles of Genetics course at Iowa State University. With this position I held three review sessions each week covering the material presented in class. Developing review material and practice problems, encouraging understanding of topics and not just memorization, and independently scheduling were a few of the skills I gained from being a Supplemental Instructor Leader. I have also been an academic mentor for athletes at Iowa State University. In this position I helped athletes develop their academic and studying skills. I find it very important to not only teach students the material they need to know but to develop their skills to be better learners. I want to be a tutor because I have always really enjoyed school; in part due to some great teachers and professors, and I would like to be a positive influence in another person's academic life. I have taken many courses during my 3.5 years at Iowa State University and have a strong conceptual foundation in science and math.

Availability

Weekends at any time, Monday after 5PM, Tuesday after 5PM, Wednesday after 5PM, Friday after 5PM

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee

Hobbies

My other job besides tutoring is working at a genetics company on Iowa State University's campus. I really enjoy my job and like the real world application of my studies. In my free time I enjoy reading, swimming, and outdoor activities.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!